The American College of Environmental Lawyers Announces LaJuana S. Wilcher as Newly-Elected Fellow

by Mandy Hicks

On behalf: American College of Environmental Lawyers (ACOEL); Contact:

The American College of Environmental Lawyers Announces Newly-Elected Fellows for 2020

The American College of Environmental Lawyers is proud to announce the election of twenty-seven new Fellows and one Honorary Fellow to membership in the College. These highly accomplished individuals were selected for their many years of substantial contributions to the field of environmental law and their high standards of practice.

ACOEL President, Andrea Field of Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP, stated, “The twenty-eight lawyers elected as Fellows to the College this year have earned this recognition based on the numerous contributions that – over many years – they have made in diverse areas of environmental law and policy. Drawn from all parts of the country, they represent the very best environmental lawyers in government service, public interest, academia, and private practice. I am delighted to welcome each and every one of them to the College.”

Our newly elected Honorary Fellow – a designation bestowed by the President of the College for sustained leadership – is John Echohawk, Executive Director and founder of the Native American Rights Fund in Boulder, Colorado and a luminary in the development of law at the intersection of environmental and tribal rights.

The newly elected Active Fellows are:

Susan Amron, General Counsel, New York City Dept. of City Planning (NY)

Deborah Mans, Deputy Commissioner, NJ Department of Environmental Protection (NJ)

Michael Burger, Executive Director, Columbia University Law School Sabin Center (NY)

Jessica Merrigan, Partner, Spencer Fane (MO)

Lisa Carlson, Deputy Attorney General, Environmental Quality Section Chief, Idaho Office of the Attorney General (ID)

Jonathan Niermann, Chairman, TX Commission on Environmental Quality (TX)

Steve Chester, Attorney and Counselor at Law, Miller, Canfield, Paddock and Stone (MI)

Jennifer Nijman, a Founding Partner, Nijman & Franzetti (IL)

Nadira Clarke, Partner, Baker Botts (DC)

Hari Osofsky, Dean and Professor, Penn State Law School (PA)

Stacey Geis, Managing Attorney, CA Regional Office, Earthjustice (CA)

Peggy Otum, Partner, WilmerHale (CA)

Vinette Godelia, Shareholder, Hopping, Greens & Sams, (FL)

Gerald Reid, Commissioner, ME Department of Environmental Protection (ME)

Monique Harden, Assistant Director of Law and Public Policy, Deep South Center for Environmental Justice (LA)

David Shorr, Partner, Lathrop GPM (MO)

Sean Hecht, Professor and Executive Director, Environmental Law Clinic, UCLA School of Law (CA)

Bob Stokes, Executive Director, Galveston Bay Foundation (TX)

Melissa Hoffer, Chief, Energy and Environment Bureau, MA Office of Attorney General (MA)

Timothy Webster, Partner, Sidley Austin (DC)

Rachel Jacobson, Special Counsel, WilmerHale (DC)

Dan Whittle, Senior Attorney and Senior Director, Environmental Defense Fund (NC)

Robin Main, Partner, Hinckley Allen (RI)

LaJuana Wilcher, Partner, English, Lucas, Priest, & Owsley LLP (KY)

Mandelbaum, David, Shareholder, Greenberg Traurig LLP (PA)

Ezekiel Williams, Director, Lewis Bess Williams & Weese (CO)

Sandi Zellmer, Professor and Director of Natural Resources Clinics, University of Montana Law of School (MT)


For more information on LaJuana S. Wilcher, click here: